



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE December 15, 2016

PRESS CONTACTS:
Gabriel Einsohn, Senior Communications Director
Allison Underwood, Press & Social Media Manager
press@newmuseum.org
212.219.1222 x209
Andrea Schwan
info@andreaschwan.com
917.371.5023

New Museum Names Three New Members to its Board of Trustees, Isolde Brielmaier, Victoria Mikhelson, and Michael Xufu Huang

Representing a Next Generation of International Leadership as the Museum Approaches its 40th Anniversary Year

New York, NY...Lisa Phillips, Toby Devan Lewis Director of the New Museum, and James Keith Brown, President, announced today the appointment of three new members elected to the Museum's Board of Trustees: Isolde Brielmaier, Victoria Mikhelson, and Michael Xufu Huang. As the Museum approaches its fortieth anniversary and tenth year in its SANAA-designed building on the Bowery, these recently elected Trustees reflect the Museum's continued focus on the next generation of leaders—from artists shaping contemporary art and the future of culture to young philanthropists and activist supporters. The Museum has grown into a leading international cultural destination, and these new Trustees represent not only a new generational view but different cultural perspectives.

"We could not be more pleased that these three connected supporters of the New Museum will join our Board at this time. Their passion, dedication, and intelligence will strengthen the diverse perspectives we champion," said Lisa Phillips, *Toby Devan Lewis* Director.

International curator and scholar **IsoIde Brielmaier** is Professor of Critical Studies at New York University's Tisch School of the Arts as well as Director of Arts and Culture at Westfield World Trade Center in New York. Brielmaier holds a PhD from Columbia University and is a noted art historian who has written extensively on contemporary art and culture with a global focus on artists of color. She has published numerous exhibition catalogue essays, academic texts, and critical reviews. Brielmaier also serves as Curator at Large at the Tang Museum.

Victoria Mikhelson graduated from New York University and holds an MA in the History of Art from the Courtauld Institute in London. Mikhelson works in Moscow, London, and Venice. She is the project manager overseeing V-A-C, a foundation dedicated to presenting Russian contemporary art internationally and supporting the development and recognition of a new generation of contemporary artists in Russia. Mikhelson has been a member of the New Museum's International Leadership Council, serves on the International Advisory Board of Manifesta in Amsterdam, and sits on the Board of the Fondazione Nicola Trussardi in Milan.

Michael Xufu Huang is an art collector and a co-founder of M WOODS, an independent nonprofit art museum in Beijing that brings international contemporary art to the Chinese public. Housed in a former munitions factory in Beijing's 798 Art District, M WOODS is one of several museums that represent the next generation of contemporary art in China's capitol, changing the institutional landscape for contemporary art in the city. As an arts patron, Huang is a champion of emerging post-internet art and work that fuses art and technology, and serves as a member of the New Museum's International Leadership Council.

Brielmaier, Mikhelson, and Huang join forty current Board members including: Shelley Fox Aarons, Secretary, Leon Amitai, Dieter Bogner, Alexandra Bowes, James Keith Brown, President, Saul Dennison, Chairman, David Droga, Lonti Ebers, Vice President, Mitzi Eisenberg, Vice President, Susan Feinstein, Ella Fontanals-Cisneros, Charlotte Feng Ford, Stephanie French, John Friedman, Sunny Y. Goldberg, Lola Goldring, Manuel E. Gonzalez, Hunter Gray, Julia Gruen, David

Heller, Vice President, Maja Hoffman, Ruth Horowitz, Dakis Joannou, Jill Kraus, Ken Kuchin, Hank Latner, Joan Lazarus, Toby Devan Lewis, Vice President, Eugenio López, James C.A. McClennen, Leonid Mikhelson, Gael Neeson, Catherine Orentreich, William A. Palmer, José Olympio Pereira, Stephen Reily, Ron Rosenzweig, Paul T. Schnell, Vice Chairman, Laura Skoler, Dianne Wallace, John S. Wotowicz, Treasurer.

ABOUT NEW MUSEUM

The New Museum is the only museum in New York City exclusively devoted to contemporary art. Founded in 1977, the New Museum is a center for exhibitions, information, and documentation about living artists from around the world. From its beginnings as a one-room office on Hudson Street to the inauguration of its first freestanding building on the Bowery designed by SANAA in 2007, the New Museum continues to be a place of experimentation and a hub of new art and new ideas.