

PRESS CONTACTS: Sarah Morris, Director of Communications 212-219-1222 x 217 press@newmuseum.org

> Andrea Schwan 917-371-5023 info@andreaschwan.com

## New Museum Announces All-Artist Jury for Inaugural Hostetler/Wrigley Sculpture Award

Teresita Fernandez, Joan Jonas, Julie Mehretu, Cindy Sherman, and Kiki Smith to Select Woman Artist for \$400K Grant



**New York, NY**—The New Museum today announces artists Teresita Fernández, Joan Jonas, Julie Mehretu, Cindy Sherman, and Kiki Smith as the jury for the inaugural Hostetler/Wrigley Sculpture Award, a biennial award supporting the production of new sculpture by women artists. Made possible by the Hostetler/Wrigley Foundation, the \$400,000 grant supports the artist's honorarium, production, installation, administration, and exhibition of new work on the New Museum's forthcoming public plaza on the Bowery—a new public space created as part of the

Museum's OMA-designed building expansion. There will be five recipients of the Hostetler/Wrigley Sculpture Award over ten years, with the winner selected by a rotating jury. The inaugural recipient will be announced in spring 2023.

"While great strides have been made in recent years towards greater gender parity in the arts, this new award aims to address the persistent gap in support for women artists undertaking ambitious, large-scale commissions. The New Museum's long history supporting women artists makes it the perfect place for this," said Sue Hostetler Wrigley, Co-Founder of the Hosteler/Wrigley Foundation.

"With our partners at the Hostetler/Wrigley Foundation, the New Museum is thrilled inaugurate this award with an outstanding group of pathbreaking artists serving as the jury," said Lisa Phillips, Toby Devan Lewis Director of the New Museum.

Founded in 1977 by Marcia Tucker, the New Museum has been led by women directors throughout its 45-year history and championed women artists through commissions, residencies, and milestone exhibitions, recently including monographic presentations of Lynda Benglis, Nicole Eisenman, Lubaina Himid, Kapwani Kiwanga, Lynn Hershman Leeson, Simone Leigh, Sarah Lucas, Carol Rama, Faith Ringgold, Pipilotti Rist, Mika Rottenberg, Rosemarie Trockel, Kaari Upson, Andra Ursuta, and Lynette Yiadom-Boakye, among many others. In 2016, the Museum established the Artemis Council of women philanthropists supporting women artists, of which Sue Hostetler Wrigley was a founding member. The launch of the Hostetler/Wrigley Sculpture Award continues the New Museum's longstanding commitment to gender equity across its exhibitions, public programs, and leadership.

## ABOUT HOSTETLER/WRIGLEY FOUNDATION

The Hostetler/Wrigley Foundation is a contemporary philanthropic organization, providing resources to individuals and organizations with breakthrough ideas to help solve age-old, systemic problems through new ideas with a progressive focus. The foundation strives to help make this nation a place where everyone is represented, welcome to participate, and equally valued for their unique contributions. Founders Sue Hostetler Wrigley and Beau Wrigley are driven by the intent to expand access to all and drive parity in the United States, so everyone has a fair chance at building a better future. More information at hwfoundation.org

## ABOUT NEW MUSEUM

The New Museum is the only museum in New York City exclusively devoted to contemporary art. Founded in 1977, the New Museum is a center for exhibitions, information, and documentation about living artists from around the world. From its beginnings as a one-room office on Hudson Street to the inauguration of its first freestanding building on the Bowery designed by SANAA in 2007, the New Museum continues to be a place of experimentation and a hub of new art and new ideas.

Image: Rendering of the expanded New Museum and public plaza. Credit: OMA/bloomimages.de